Subscribe Now

Trending News

Blog Post

What is VMWare NSX? Definition, Architecture and Features
Definition's

What is VMWare NSX? Definition, Architecture and Features

What is VMWare NSX?

VMware NSX is the functional equivalent to a networking “hypervisor” that occupies the OSI layer levels from Layer 2 to Layer 7, as well as all its functionalities. Sure you sound functionalities such as routing, switching, access control, firewalling, QoS or load balancing, right? VMware NSX covers all of these functionalities from a virtual point of view.

Like a hypervisor of servers like vSphere or HyperV, it allows us to copy, clone, move, make snapshots, delete, restore VMs or program actions of almost any kind, VMware NSX allows us to do practically the same with virtual networks. Like VMs, we can create, delete, copy, move or provisioned automatically from a simple management environment and with just a few clicks.

And perhaps most importantly, just as VMs are independent of the hardware on which they work, VMware NSX is independent of hardware at the IP layer level, since it works by virtualizing the entire networking layer and managing it as resource pools that we consume according to our needs.

But the most important thing is a change of concept since the network goes from being an external element to the virtualization layer, to being another element within it. Beware, VMware NSX does not eliminate the need to use physical switches, since the interconnection with the physical world is still necessary, at least for the moment.

Currently, there are two versions; the specifies vSphere and the multi-hypervisor. In this post, we will focus on the vSphere since the multi-hypervisor will be treated in another later.

VMWARE NSX architecture: What architecture do you have?

VMware NSX Architecture

Image Courtesy: VMware.com

We can structure the VMware NSX architecture in the following components:

Data Plane: includes the VMware NSX vSwitch for ESXi, which are no more than a Distributed Switch (DVS) or Open vSwitch in the case of other hypervisors with additional components to allow more powerful and advanced services. These components, added to the kernel, allow for capabilities such as advanced routing and firewall, or the capabilities of VXLAN bridging. If layer 2 or 3 capabilities to be desire, such as perimeter firewall, load balancing, SSL VPN, DHCP, etc., it is necessary to deploy the VMware NSX Edge Virtual Appliance, either in Logical Router or Services Gateway mode depending on the function you are going to play.

Plane Control: in this layer there are one or several VMware NSX Controllers, depending on the chosen architecture, it manages all the logic of the virtual switches and the traffic of the rest of the components. More or fewer Controller numbers are deployed, depending on the needs of high availability or performance.

Management Plane: within it is the VMware NSX Manager, which in the end is the single point of configuration and management of NSX. It is installed with a Virtual Appliance more, like other components of the solution.

Consumption: in this layer is the integration of external components of automation and management of the VMware NSX environment, such as vCAC, vCloud Director or OpenStack through the Neutron plugin. Note that the environment is also manageable from the VMware NSX Manager UI itself or the vSphere WebClient.

VMware NSX today does not offer control over physical switches, although in the future it is expected to do so. At the moment, Arista offers very high integration, through its Arista EOS operating system that allows a symbiosis with the VMware NSX Controller and shares information such as network topology, VXLAN tables, MAC addresses, and layer two routings.

VMWARE NSX Features: What does it give me?

Besides that it is very “modern” to say that we have VMware NSX because it seems that if you do not speak you live in the past :), there are a series of real indisputable advantages that having an infrastructure with networking virtualization gives us:

  • Ability to provision network infrastructure together with VMs quickly and automatically.
  • Ability to deploy IaaS in isolation without communication with the rest of the infrastructure, but with the possibility of being routed.
  • Noticeable performance improvement, since a lot of network traffic, does not have to leave the virtualization layer.
  • Flexibility to overcome disaster recovery
  • Horizontal scalability of the DMZ.
  • Consolidate security policies
  • Reduction of operating costs

This graph clearly shows the improvement provided by the ability of VMware NSX routing at layer 3 level: And in this other, that gives us the strength of firewall of NSX, especially as far as jump level is concerned

VMware NSX Price: How much is it worth?

As VMware NSX license in two different ways, if it is for vSphere or Multi-Hypervisor and within the licensing for vSphere, we can opt for perpetual license or annual payment. For the multi-hypervisor licensing you can only choose for the yearly fee.

So that you have an approximate reference of prices, options of cost of the solution (you already know that this is very variable and it is only a reference):

  • Price per processor for NSX, perpetual license: $ 6,000, annual maintenance of each processor is around $ 1,200.
  • Annual subscription for VMware NSX in vSphere for 25 VMs: $ 2,300
  • Annual subscription for VMware NSX in multi-hypervisor for 25 VMs: $ 2,500

The product is not economical, but if you spend your life managing VLANs and you need it because you have very high OPEX costs, it is “even cheap.”

VMware NSX: Who needs it?

As I suppose you have seen at this point of the post, VMware NSX is a product designed to reduce the costs of IT operations at the level of networking and logically, on this grounds its justification.

Although it is true that the performance improvement is very high, this may not entirely justify the investment except for particular environments and its most common entry point is the need to reduce management and increase scalability.

Who? Without a doubt, the biggest ISPs and the ones with the most money, because for the small ones, it is a very high disbursement according to the ROI that they will obtain. Also for large corporations or companies whose development/pre-production/production cycles are very high and very varied.

I hope this post has given you a purer vision of networking virtualization and specifically of VMware NSX. Any comment or contribution that you want to make will be very welcome 🙂

oprol evorter
Tech Reviews

There is apparently a bundle to identify about this. I feel you made some good points in features also.

6 months ago
oprolevorter
Tech Reviews

My partner and I stumbled over here different page and thought I might check things out. I like what I see so now i’m following you. Look forward to looking at your web page yet again.

6 months ago
RaphaelBig
Tech Reviews

Hi. I have checked your computertechreviews.com and i see you’ve got some duplicate content so probably
it is the reason that you don’t rank hi in google. But you
can fix this issue fast. There is a tool that creates articles
like human, just search in google: miftolo’s
tools

5 months ago
Danny
Tech Reviews

of course like your web site however you have to take a
look at the spelling on quite a few of your posts. Many of them are rife
with spelling problems and I to find it very troublesome to inform the reality then again I’ll certainly come again again.

3 months ago

Amoxicillin Liquid Thrush Tongue [url=http://viaonlineusa.com]viagra online pharmacy[/url] Levitra Langzeittherapie

3 months ago
Brettjak
Tech Reviews

Cool design and very well designed blog. I love it.

2 months ago
Charlesgeach
Tech Reviews

Like the everyday posting.

2 months ago
Michaelbow
Tech Reviews

Very impressed with the design and layout of the blog. Appreciate it.

2 months ago
tinyurl.com
Tech Reviews

Wonderful blog!

2 months ago
http://tinyurl.com/umdazbe
Tech Reviews

What’s up it’s me, I am also visiting this web site daily, this site is truly good
and the visitors are genuinely sharing good thoughts.

2 months ago
Michaelbow
Tech Reviews

Your blog post have attracted me a lot, you writing skills are awesome. Thanks for sharing the article.

2 months ago

[url=http://tadalafil02.us.com]tadalafil no prescription [/url]

2 months ago
KennethPal
Tech Reviews

Thank you for posting such great articles.

2 months ago
Michaelbow
Tech Reviews

Very impressed with the design and layout of the blog. Appreciate it.

2 months ago
Charlesgeach
Tech Reviews

Very impressed with the design and layout of the blog. Appreciate it.

2 months ago
Charlesgeach
Tech Reviews

Like the everyday posting.

2 months ago
Michaelbow
Tech Reviews

Articles are very well written and provides unique information. Thanks for this

2 months ago
Michaelbow
Tech Reviews

Like the everyday posting.

2 months ago
Brettjak
Tech Reviews

Very impressed with the design and layout of the blog. Appreciate it.

2 months ago
Michaelbow
Tech Reviews

Cool design and very well designed blog. I love it.

2 months ago
Michaelbow
Tech Reviews

Best method to manage a website.

2 months ago
Michaelbow
Tech Reviews

Very impressed with the design and layout of the blog.

2 months ago
Charlesgeach
Tech Reviews

Thank you for posting such great articles.

2 months ago
Michaelbow
Tech Reviews

Best method to manage a website.

2 months ago
Bennytus
Tech Reviews

Your blog post have attracted me a lot, you writing skills are awesome. Thanks for sharing the article.

2 months ago
Michaelbow
Tech Reviews

Like the everyday posting.

2 months ago
KennethPal
Tech Reviews

Cool design and very well designed blog. I love it.

2 months ago
Bennytus
Tech Reviews

articles are very well written and have unique information. Thanks.

2 months ago
Michaelbow
Tech Reviews

Like the everyday posting.

2 months ago
Bennytus
Tech Reviews

Your blog post have attracted me a lot, you writing skills are awesome. Thanks for sharing the article

2 months ago
Michaelbow
Tech Reviews

Like the everyday posting.

2 months ago
Michaelbow
Tech Reviews

Happy to approach you.

2 months ago
KennethPal
Tech Reviews

Thank you for posting such great articles.

2 months ago
Brettjak
Tech Reviews

Very impressed with the design and layout of the blog. Appreciate it.

2 months ago
Michaelbow
Tech Reviews

Thank you for posting such great articles.

2 months ago
Charlesgeach
Tech Reviews

Your blog post have attracted me a lot, you writing skills are awesome. Thanks for sharing the article

2 months ago
StewartGop
Tech Reviews

Like the everyday posting.

2 months ago
Brettjak
Tech Reviews

Information provided is very useful and can be used by many users in technology industry.

2 months ago
Charlesgeach
Tech Reviews

Like the everyday posting.

2 months ago
Charlesgeach
Tech Reviews

Your blog post have attracted me a lot, you writing skills are awesome. Thanks for sharing the article

2 months ago
Charlesgeach
Tech Reviews

Your blog post have attracted me a lot, you writing skills are awesome. Thanks for sharing the article.

2 months ago
StewartGop
Tech Reviews

Like the everyday posting.

2 months ago
Charlesgeach
Tech Reviews

Best method to manage a website.

2 months ago
Charlesgeach
Tech Reviews

Thank you for posting such great articles.

2 months ago
Charlesgeach
Tech Reviews

Your blog post have attracted me a lot, you writing skills are awesome. Thanks for sharing the article.

2 months ago
KennethPal
Tech Reviews

Information provided is very useful and can be used by many users in technology industry.

2 months ago
Michaelbow
Tech Reviews

Like the everyday posting.

2 months ago
Michaelbow
Tech Reviews

Your blog post have attracted me a lot, you writing skills are awesome. Thanks for sharing the article.

2 months ago
Michaelbow
Tech Reviews

Thank you for posting such great articles.

2 months ago
Bennytus
Tech Reviews

Like the everyday posting.

2 months ago
Charlesgeach
Tech Reviews

Happy to approach you.

2 months ago
Bennytus
Tech Reviews

Happy to approach you.

2 months ago
Charlesgeach
Tech Reviews

Like the everyday posting.

1 month ago
KennethPal
Tech Reviews

Very impressed with the design and layout of the blog. Appreciate it.

1 month ago
Michaelbow
Tech Reviews

Articles are very well written and provides unique information. Thanks for this

1 month ago
Charlesgeach
Tech Reviews

Very impressed with the design and layout of the blog. Appreciate it.

1 month ago
Michaelbow
Tech Reviews

Happy to approach you.

1 month ago
KennethPal
Tech Reviews

Thank you for posting such great articles.

1 month ago
KennethPal
Tech Reviews

Cool design and very well designed blog. I love it.

1 month ago
Michaelbow
Tech Reviews

Thank you for posting such great articles.

1 month ago
Charlesgeach
Tech Reviews

nice blog

1 month ago
Bennytus
Tech Reviews

great articles.

1 month ago
Brettjak
Tech Reviews

nice blog, i love it.

1 month ago
Michaelbow
Tech Reviews

Thank you for posting such great articles.

1 month ago
Michaelbow
Tech Reviews

Cool design and very well designed blog. I love it.

1 month ago
Michaelbow
Tech Reviews

I am genuinely thankful to the owner of this site who has shared this wonderful post at at this place.

1 month ago
Bennytus
Tech Reviews

You definitely put a brand new spin on a subject that’s been discussed for a long time.
Great stuff, just excellent!

1 month ago
Michaelbow
Tech Reviews

nice blog.keep it up!

1 month ago
Bennytus
Tech Reviews

I am really impressed with your writing skills as well as with the layout on your web blog.Thank you!

1 month ago
Charlesgeach
Tech Reviews

This is very interesting, You’re a very skilled blogger.

1 month ago
Michaelbow
Tech Reviews

Your blog post have attracted me a lot, your writing skills are awesome. Thanks for sharing the article.

1 month ago
Michaelbow
Tech Reviews

Thank you for posting such great articles.

4 weeks ago
Brettjak
Tech Reviews

This is very interesting, You’re a very skilled blogger.Thanks for helpful info.

4 weeks ago
Michaelbow
Tech Reviews

I am impressed with this web site, real I am a fan.

4 weeks ago
Charlesgeach
Tech Reviews

Articles are very well written and provides unique information. Thanks for this!

4 weeks ago
Michaelbow
Tech Reviews

your site is very helpful.many thanks for sharing!

4 weeks ago
Michaelbow
Tech Reviews

Very impressed with the design and layout of the blog. Appreciate it.

3 weeks ago
KennethPal
Tech Reviews

sweet blog!

3 weeks ago
Charlesgeach
Tech Reviews

This is very useful post for me.Thank you!

3 weeks ago
Charlesgeach
Tech Reviews

It’s actually a great and helpful piece of info.

3 weeks ago
Charlesgeach
Tech Reviews

This is very interesting, You’re a very skilled blogger.

3 weeks ago
Charlesgeach
Tech Reviews

I liked this blog post. It was helpful. Keep on posting!|

3 weeks ago
Michaelbow
Tech Reviews

These are really fantastic ideas in regarding blogging.Thank you!

3 weeks ago
KennethPal
Tech Reviews

Good job!keep it up!

3 weeks ago
Michaelbow
Tech Reviews

I conceive other website owners should take this web site as an example , very clean and excellent user friendly style and design.
I am so excited right now after reading this! Thank you!

3 weeks ago
Bennytus
Tech Reviews

good blog!

3 weeks ago
Charlesgeach
Tech Reviews

I am really impressed with your writing skills as well as with the layout on your web blog.

3 weeks ago
Michaelbow
Tech Reviews

Best method to manage a website.

3 weeks ago
KennethPal
Tech Reviews

Your blog post have attracted me a lot, your writing skills are awesome. Thanks for sharing the article.

3 weeks ago
Charlesgeach
Tech Reviews

Articles are very well written.Thank you for helpful information.

3 weeks ago
KennethPal
Tech Reviews

Great stuff.Thanks.

3 weeks ago
Charlesgeach
Tech Reviews

I appreciate your web site!Thank you!

3 weeks ago
Michaelbow
Tech Reviews

fantastic ideas in regarding blogging.Keep it up!

3 weeks ago
Michaelbow
Tech Reviews

fantastic post!

3 weeks ago
Charlesgeach
Tech Reviews

Oh my goodness! Incredible article dude! Thank you so much.

3 weeks ago
Charlesgeach
Tech Reviews

Thanks for ones marvelous posting! I definitely enjoyed reading it, you are a great author.
blog and may come back someday. I want to encourage continue
your great writing, have a nice day!

3 weeks ago
Michaelbow
Tech Reviews

Thank you for posting such great articles.

3 weeks ago
Michaelbow
Tech Reviews

I am impressed with this web site, real I am a fan.

3 weeks ago
Michaelbow
Tech Reviews

Great blog and great articles.

2 weeks ago
Charlesgeach
Tech Reviews

Your site is very helpful.many thanks for sharing!

2 weeks ago
Michaelbow
Tech Reviews

It’s actually a great and helpful piece of info. I am glad that you just shared this useful info with us. Please stay us up to date like this. Thank you for sharing.

2 weeks ago
Charlesgeach
Tech Reviews

I am genuinely thankful to the owner of this site who has shared this wonderful post at this place.

2 weeks ago
KennethPal
Tech Reviews

I am impressed with this web site, real I am a fan.

2 weeks ago
Bennytus
Tech Reviews

Either way keep up the excellent quality writing, it’s rare to see a
great blog like this one nowadays.

2 weeks ago
Charlesgeach
Tech Reviews

Amazing blog. Superb choice of colors!

2 weeks ago
Charlesgeach
Tech Reviews

Great post.

2 weeks ago
Brettjak
Tech Reviews

Best method to manage a website.

2 weeks ago
Michaelbow
Tech Reviews

Either way keep up the excellent quality writing, it’s rare to see a
great blog like this one nowadays.

2 weeks ago
Charlesgeach
Tech Reviews

I am genuinely thankful to the owner of this site who has shared this wonderful post at this place.

2 weeks ago
Charlesgeach
Tech Reviews

I am genuinely thankful to the owner of this site who has shared this wonderful post at this place.

1 week ago
KennethPal
Tech Reviews

Great blog and great articles!

1 week ago
StewartGop
Tech Reviews

You’re a very skilled blogger.

1 week ago

Review What is VMWare NSX? Definition, Architecture and Features.

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Related posts