CISSP Definition

The CISSP requirement is one of the most valued certifications in the information security industry, demonstrating advanced knowledge of cybersecurity.

They are many benefits. We turn our attention to the building of the qualification itself and the domains within it.

And also, (ISC)2, developed and maintained its qualification, restructured the certificate in 2015, moving from ten domains to eight.

What are the Eight CISSP Domains?

The Eight CISSP Domains are listed below:

1. Security and Risk Management

It comprises about 15% of the CISSP exam.

It is the main domain in CISSP, providing a complete overview to know about the information systems management.

  • The confidentiality, integrity, and availability of information
  • And also, Compliance requirements
  • Security governance principles
  • Risk-based management concepts
  • And also, IT policies and procedures

2. Asset Security

It comprises about 10% of the CISSP exam.

However, This domain addresses the physical necessities of information security.

  • Firstly, Handling requirements
  • Secondly, Retention periods
  • Privacy
  • And also, Data security controls

3. Security Architecture and Engineering

It comprises about 13% of the CISSP exam.

This domain includes several important information security concepts.

  • Firstly, Engineering processes using secure design principles
  • And also, Fundamental concepts of security models
  • Security capabilities of information systems
  • Assessing and mitigating vulnerabilities in systems
  • And also, Cryptograph

4. Communications and Network Security

It comprises about 14% of the CISSP exam.

This domain includes the design and protection of an organization’s networks.

  • design principles for network architecture
  • Secure communication channels
  • And also, Secure network components

5. Identity and Access Management

It comprises about 13% of the CISSP exam.

This domain benefits information security professionals understand how to control the way users access data.

  • Firstly, Integrating identity as a service
  • Identification and authentication
  • And also, The identity and access provisioning lifecycle
  • Physical and logical access to assets
  • And also, Authorization mechanisms

6. Security Assessment and Testing

It comprises about 12% of the CISSP exam.

However, This domain focuses on the design, performance, and analysis of security testing.

  • Designing and validating assessment and test strategies
  • And also, Security control testing
  • Collecting security process data
  • Test outputs
  • And also, Internal and third-party security audits

7. Security Operations

It comprises about 13% of the CISSP exam.

This domain addresses the way plans set into action.

  • Securing the provision of resources
  • Disaster recovery
  • And also, Logging and monitoring activities
  • Incident management
  • Managing physical security
  • And also, Business continuity

8. Software Development Security

It comprises about 10% of the CISSP exam.

And also, This domain helps professionals to understand, apply, and enforce software security.

  • Security in the software development life cycle
  • Similarly, Secure coding guidelines and standards
  • The effectiveness of software security
  • And also, Security controls in development environments